Week Nine

This was my favorite week in D.C. so far because Riley came to see me! The only thing that could possibly make D.C. better is having my favorite person in the world to experience it with.

SO happy to have him here!

SO happy to have him here!

Riley got in late Friday night, but we still managed to get up early on Saturday to check out Ford’s Theatre. Riley is a big history buff, so this was one of his must-sees.

Where Lincoln was sitting when he was shot.

Lincoln’s box.

After seeing Ford’s Theatre, we walked to Astro Doughnuts & Fried Chicken for lunch. I know this sounds like the strangest combination ever, but it definitely worked. Their creme brulee doughnut was on the Washington Post’s list of Top 40 dishes every Washingtonian must try, and I’ve been waiting for Riley to check it out!

DELICIOUS

DELICIOUS

We tried the maple bacon, creme brulee, and peanut butter cup doughnuts and the fried chicken. Even though I don’t particularly care for fried chicken it was very tasty, but of course the doughnuts are what really captured my attention. There were absolutely incredible!

Peanut butter cup was my favorite. I cannot begin to describe the euphoria I experienced as I ate this doughnut.

Peanut butter cup was my favorite. I cannot begin to describe the euphoria I experienced eating this doughnut.

After lunch we went back to my apartment to get ready for my surprise for Riley . . . a photo shoot on the National Mall! Okay, okay, so I may have actually enjoyed this surprise way more than he did, but we both had a lot of fun.

I love how they turned out.

I love how they turned out!

Riley and I have been dating for four years and have never had professional pictures taken, so I decided this was the perfect opportunity. Our photographer was Johnny West with ArtsGroup, which is a non-profit that develops community programs to teach children about the arts. We got beautiful pictures and helped children develop their artistic sides, win-win!

Behind us is the D.C. WWI Memorial, one of my favorites. I love its simplicity.

Behind us is the D.C. WWI Memorial, one of my favorites. I love its simplicity.

After taking our pictures, we had dinner at Vapiano, a chain Italian restaurant close to my apartment. It’s really fun because you get a “credit card” at the restaurant to charge all of your food/drinks on at the different stations.

Love having a hot date.

Love having a hot date.

We then went to the Kennedy Center to watch “Shear Madness,” a murder mystery + comedy that is improv. It’s the second-longest running play in the U.S. (25 years) after its sister play in Boston. The actors were hilarious!

Breakfast at Luna's Grill & Diner.

Breakfast at Luna Grill & Diner.

On Sunday, we went to Riley’s other must-see, Arlington National Cemetery. The weather was absolutely beautiful! We checked out the changing of the guard, the Arlington house, and the Kennedy graves.

Perfect weather

Such a beautiful place to walk through.

Love it

Lots of selfies!

Changing of the guard

The changing of the guard.

After Arlington, we went to the Natural History Museum. By the time we finished at the museum, we were exhausted and took a nap before dinner. I wanted to take Riley to a quintessential D.C. restaurant, so I made us a reservation at Founding Farmers.

mac n cheese

Strangely delightful.

Founding Farmers is a “farm to table” restaurant, so you know the dishes will have the freshest ingredients of the best quality. Riley had chicken pot pie, which was the best I’ve ever tasted, and I had their famous mac n’ cheese. It somehow seamlessly combines granny smith apples, peas, ham, and five cheeses to make the most delicious and unusual mac n’ cheese.

This was a belated fourth anniversary dinner.

This was a belated fourth anniversary dinner.

After dinner, we went to see a movie. That’s one of the mundane things I miss the most about being in the same town with Riley. (Big difference: tickets were $15.50 with a student discount. Yikes!) It was so nice to relax and just watch a movie with him, and the perfect end to a great weekend!

Last remnants of a beautiful sunset over the Potomac.

Last remnants of a beautiful sunset over the Potomac.

Riley left early Monday morning, and it was so hard to say goodbye. The only thing keeping me from being totally depressed is my mom and little sister flying in today, and my little brother flying in Saturday! I am so excited to see them!

Leave a comment